The 1997 Texas Legislature enacted a tuition rebate for certain undergraduates that meet the criteria stated in the Texas Education Code 54.0065 and Rule 13.86 of the Texas Administrative Code listed below. If you believe that you qualify, apply in the Registrar's Office in the Administration Building .
Texas Education Code
§ 54.0065. Tuition Rebate for Certain Undergraduates
(a) A qualified student is eligible for a rebate of a portion of the undergraduate tuition the student has paid if the student:
(1) is awarded a baccalaureate degree from a general academic teaching institution; and
(2) has attempted no more than three hours in excess of the minimum number of semester credit hours required to complete the degree, including transfer credits and course credit earned exclusively by examination.
(b) The amount of tuition to be rebated to a student under this section is $1,000, unless the total amount of undergraduate tuition paid by the student to the institution of higher education awarding the degree was less than $1,000, in which event the amount of tuition to be rebated is an amount equal to the amount of undergraduate tuition paid by the student to the institution. However, a student who paid the institution awarding the degree an amount of undergraduate tuition less than $1,000 may qualify for an increase in the amount of the rebate, not to exceed a total rebate of $1,000, for any amount of undergraduate tuition the student paid to other institutions of higher education by providing the institution with proof of the total amount of that tuition paid to other institutions of higher education.
(c) A student who has transferred from another institution of higher education shall provide the institution awarding the degree an official transcript from each institution attended by the student in order that the total number of hours attempted by the student can be verified.
(d) To qualify for a rebate under this section, the student must have been a resident of this state and entitled to pay tuition at the rate provided by this chapter for a resident student at all times while pursuing the degree.
(e) All institutions of higher education shall notify each first-time freshman student of the tuition rebate program.
(f) The institution awarding the degree shall pay the rebate under this section from local funds.
(g) If a student entitled to a rebate under this section has an outstanding student loan, including an emergency loan, owed or guaranteed by this state, including the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation, the institution shall apply the amount of the rebate to the student's loan. If a student has more than one outstanding loan, the institution shall apply the amount of the rebate to the loans as directed by the student or, if the student fails to provide timely instructions on the application of the amount, the institution shall apply the amount of the rebate to the loans according to priorities established by the coordinating board. If the amount of the rebate exceeds the amount of the loan indebtedness, the institution shall pay the student the excess amount.
(h) The legislature shall account in the General Appropriations Act for the rebates authorized by this section in a way that provides a corresponding increase in the general revenue funds appropriated to the institution. It is the intent of the legislature that rebates authorized by this section shall be financed by savings to the state resulting from reductions in the number of courses taken by undergraduate students.
(i) The coordinating board, in consultation with the institutions of higher education, shall adopt rules for the administration of this section.
Added by Acts 1997, 75th Leg., ch. 1073, § 1.09, eff. Aug. 1, 1997 .
Texas Administrative Code
(a) Students desiring to qualify for tuition rebates are responsible for complying with all university rules and regulations related to administration of the program.
(b) Students desiring to qualify for tuition rebates are solely responsible for enrolling only in courses that will qualify them for the rebates.
(c) A student who has transferred from another institution of higher education is responsible for providing to the institution awarding the degree official transcripts from all institutions attended by the student.
(d) Students must apply for rebates prior to receiving their baccalaureate degrees on forms provided by the institution and must keep the institution apprized of their addresses for at least 60 days after their graduation date.
Link for more information: